Founded in 1973 with an emphasis on non-fiction, Abacus is now the home of major literary bestsellers, exciting debut writers and internationally influential voices in fiction, memoir, history and smart thinking. From non-fiction classics by Primo Levi and Nelson Mandela to memoir, ideas and history by writers like David Sedaris, Rachel Clarke , Tim Harford and Tom Holland; from cult literary icons like David Foster Wallace and Beryl Bainbridge to million-copy blockbuster novelists like Celeste Ng and Alexander McCall Smith, Abacus authors are united by their intelligence, wit, fresh perspectives on the world – and the power of their storytelling.

Many of our authors have been recognised by major literary prizes – like Booker-shortlisted Jane Gardam, Simon Mawer and Chigozie Obioma, and Pulitzer Prize winners Donna Tartt and Andrew Sean Greer – and many have become Sunday Times bestsellers. In many cases we have published them right from the beginning of their careers. Shaped by the taste of three editors, Abacus is dedicated to the long-term careers of its writers, and to making brilliant books into bestsellers.

Showing all 5 results